(Treaty 6 Territory, Saskatoon, SK) – The second annual Strength of Our Women award were handed out last night at a gala event at TCU Place in Saskatoon.

“It is a privilege to honour our indigenous women for their extraordinary contributions in their fields,” said FSIN Vice-Chief Heather Bear. “With so many accomplished nominees it posed a challenge to narrow the field, but ultimately the women who we honoured tonight are deserving of this recognition. We are so proud of you.”


The awards acknowledging the contributions and achievements of First Nations women and girls. The awards and gala are hosted by the Saskatchewan First Nations Women’s Commission (SFNWC ) with the Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations (FSIN).

“First Nations women in Saskatchewan are artists, advocates, business women, and mothers – they are leaders. We commend every one of these women and all the other nominees for their extraordinary work in their families, Nations, province, continent, and beyond each and every day. Congratulations again to all the winners and nominees, you are an inspiration to us all,” said Vice Chief Bear.

Proceeds from the Strength of Our Women Awards Gala are dedicated to initiatives that support the families of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Girls.

Strength of Our Women award winners

Desaray Robillard, Fond du Lac

Lifetime Achievement
Delia Opekokew, Canoe Lake

Arts and Entertainment
Tasha Hubbard, Peepeekisis

Mary Doris Greyeyes, Little Black Bear

Culture and Spirituality
Nancy Linklater, Whitecap

Belinda Daniels, Sturgeon Lake

Barb Lavalee, Cowessess

Health and Wellness
Dr. Bonita Beatty, Peter Ballantyne

Law and Justice
Beverly Poitras, Muscowpetung

Brigette Lacquette, Cote

Leadership and Advocacy
Myrna Laplante, Day Star, and Darlene Okemaysin, Beardy’s and Okemasis

Clara Duquette, Mistawasis
Eileen Vandall, Ahtahkakoop
Gertrude Montgrand, Peter Ballantyne
Mabel Ouellette, Red Pheasant
Mary Thunderchild,  Thunderchild
Neva Mirasty, Flying Dust
Rose Daniels, Sturgeon Lake
Shirley McNab, George Gordon
Clara Norman, Flying Dust
Evelyn Desnomie, Peepeekisis
Jeanne Sutherland, Beardy’s & Okemasis
Maria Linklater, Thunderchild
Melvina Eagle, Whitecap
Philomene Roy, Canoe Lake
Sandra George, Ochapowace



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.