Saskatchewan now has 14 federal electoral ridings, two more than in the previous federal election.

By Judy Bird

According to a study based on information from Elections Canada, voter turnout on First Nations reserves is significantly lower than turnout in the rest of the country for federal elections.

A Research Note titled Federal Voter Turnout in First Nations Reserves (2004 – 2011) by Jean-Sebastien Bargiel, a policy and reserach analyst, found that voter turnout on First Nations reserves was about 44 percent, while the national average was about 61 percent.

In Saskatchewan, the average was 45.5% voter turnout over the last four federal elections.

In 2011, Saskatchewan had 12 electoral districts, and 210 polling stations on reserve. The highest voter turnout rate across the province was 73.9% at the Saskatoon-Wanuskewin riding, while the lowest was the Battlefords-Lloydminster riding with just 32.8 percent voter turnout. Other ridings had voter turnout in the 44 percent to 66 percent range.

Saskatchewan now has 14 electoral districts in the 2015 federal election. Boundaries have changed for some ridings, and so have district names. For example, the Saskatoon-Wanuskewin riding no longer exists; the boundaries have changed and First Nations in the previous riding may now be in another riding or the newly created one.

You can also find more information about voting and where to vote at

Here is a list of the ridings in Saskatchewan, some of the urban communities in the riding, First Nations in the riding, and the candidates for each party.



Includes major centres of Battleford, North Battleford, Lloydminster, Kerrobert.  First Nation reserves of Onion Lake (Seekaskootch), Little Pine, Poundmaker, Sweetgrass, part of Saulteaux FN, Moosomin, Mosquito, Red Pheasant and Thunderchild.


Gerry Ritz – Conservative
Mikaela-Mari Tenkin – Green Party
Larry Ingram – Liberal Party
Sandra Arias – NDP



Carlton-Trail_Eagle-CreekCarleton Trail – Eagle Creek

Includes communities of Duck Lake, Humboldt, Rosetown and Biggar. First Nations in the riding are: Mosquito Grizzly Bear’s Head Lean Man, Lucky Man, Mistawasis, Muskeg Lake, Beardy’s Okemasis.


Kelly Block – Conservative
Lynn Oliphant – Green Party
Alex Slusar – Liberal Party
Glenn Wright – New Democratic Party


Cypress-Hills_GrasslandsCypress Hills – Grasslands

Includes urban centres of Caronport, Swift Current, Maple Creek, Kindersley. First Nations reserves in the riding are Wood Mountain and Nekaneet.


David Anderson – Conservative
William Caton – Green Party
Marvin Wiens – Liberal Party
Trevor Peterson – New Democratic Party


Desnethe_Missinippi_Churchill-RiverDesnethe-Missinippi-Churchill River

Includes communities of Fond du Lac and Stony Rapids, Ile-a-la-Crosse, Cumberland House and Meadow Lake.

First Nations in the riding are (in alphabetical order): Ahtahkakoop, Birch Narrows, Big Island Lake Cree Nation, Big River, Black Lake, Buffalo River Dene Nation, Canoe Lake, Clearwater River Dene Nation, Cumberland House, English River, Flying Dust, Fond du Lac, Hatchett Lake, Island Lake, Lac la Ronge, Makwa Shagaiecan, Montreal Lake, Pelican Lake, Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation, Red Earth, part of Saulteaux First Nation, Shoal Lake, Waterhen.


Rob Clarke – Conservative
Warren Koch – Green Party
Lawrence Joseph – Liberal Party
Georgina Jolibois – New Democratic Party


Moose-Jaw_Lake-Centre_LaniganMoose Jaw – Lake Centre – Lanigan

Includes urban centres of Avonlea and Moose Jaw, Strasbourg and Dundurn. First Nation reserve in the riding is Whitecap Dakota.


Tom Lukiwski – Conservative
Shawn Setyo – Green Party
Perry Juttla – Liberal Party
Dustan Hlady – New Democratic Party
Robert Thomas – Rhinocerous Party




Prince-AlbertPrince Albert

Includes urban centres of Prince Albert, Melfort, Tisdale and Shellbrooke. First Nations in the riding include Wahpaton, Sturgeon Lake, James Smith, Muskoday and One Arrow.


Randy Hoback – Conservative
Byron Tenkink – Green Party
Gordon Kirkby – Liberal Party
Lon Borgerson – New Democratic Party



Encompasses the western half of the city of Regina, north from Armour Road, west of the Lewvan to Victoria Avenue, then to the west side of Albert street, south to Highway 1 and west to Pinkie Road.  No First Nations reserves are in this riding.


Trent Fraser – Conservative
Tamela Friesen – Green Party
Louis Brown – Liberal Party
Erin Weir – New Democratic Party
Wojciech Dolata – Libertarian Party



Includes the urban centres of Wynyard, Fort Qu’Appelle, Balcarres, Indian Head, Wolseley, White City, and Southey. Part of the city of Regina is included in the riding, with boundaries east of Lewvan Drive, north of South Railway and north of Victoria Avenue. First Nations in the riding include Kawakatoose (Poorman), Day Star, Muskowekwan, George Gordon, Little Black Bear, Starblanket, Okanese, Peepeekisis, Standing Buffalo, Pasqua, Muscowpetung, and Piapot First Nation.


Andrew Scheer – Conservative
Greg Chatterson – Green Party
Della Anaquod – Liberal Party
Nial Kuyek – New Democratic Party



This riding covers the south and east section of Regina, east of Albert street and south of South Railway/Saskatchewan Drive to the southernmost parts of the city. There are no First Nation reserves in the riding.


Michael Kram – Conservative
Frances Simonson – Green Party
Ralph Goodale – Liberal Party
April Bourgeois – New Democratic Party



The riding covers the southeast part of Saskatoon, with the boundary east of the Saskatchewan river, south of 8th Street, east of McKercher Drive and south of Highway 5. There are no First Nation reserves in this riding.


Kevin Waugh – Conservative
Mark Bigland-Prtichard – Green Party
Tracy Muggli – Liberal Party
Scott Bell – New Democratic Party



Covers the northeastern part of Saskatoon, north of 8th Street, west of McKercher Drive, north of Highway 5 and east of Warman Road. There are no First Nation reserves in the riding.


Brad Trost – Conservative
Valerie Harvey – Green Party
Cynthia Marie Block – Liberal Party
Claire Card – New Democratic Party
Eric Schalm – Rhinoceros Party


Saskatoon_WestSaskatoon West

The riding covers the western part of Saskatoon, from Highway 11 and Wanuskewin Road in the northern part of the riding to past the CPR tracks in the southern part of the riding. There are no First Nation reserves in the riding.


Randy Donauer – Conservative
Glendon Toews – Green Party
Lisa Abbott – Liberal Party
Sheri Benson – New Democratic Party
Bronek Hart – Libertarian Party


Souris_Moose_MountainSouris-Moose Mountain

Includes the urban centres of Vibank, Moosomin, Estevan, Weyburn and Bengough. First Nations in the riding are Carry the Kettle, Sakimay, Cowessess, Ochapowace, Kahkewistehaw, Ocean Man, Pheasant Rump and White Bear.


Robert Kitchen – Conservative
Robert Deptuck – Green Party
Steven Bebbington – Liberal Party
Vicky O’Dell – New Democratic Party



Includes the urban centres of St. Brieux, Rose Valley, Kamsack, Yorkton, Melville, Esterhazy. First Nations in the riding include Kinistin, Fishing Lake, Yellow Quill, Key, Keeseekoose and Cote.


Cathay Wagantall – Conservative
Elaine Hughes – Green Party
Brooke Malinoski – Liberal Party
Doug Ottenbreit – New Democratic Party

Riding description information taken from Elections Canada.

Candidate information source:

First Nation voter research source:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.